Category Archives: Contests


Emcee Mary Jane Maffini welcomes you to an evening with Barbara Fradkin,  Jim Napier, Linda Wiken,  Patricia Filteau,  Melissa Yi, Brenda Chapman,  Mike Martin,  Madona Skaff and Jim Napier.  The Arthur Ellis Awards shortlist will be announced.  In addition the shortlist for the Audrey Jessup Short Story Contest will be announced. 

The event is on  Wednesday, April 18 at 7:00 p.m. at Chapters Rideau (47 Rideau St ).

Capital Crime Writers Short Story Contest


With the cold weather now upon us, maybe you feel like huddling inside where it’s warm and cozy, while enjoying a good book. Or, you could start thinking about entering our annual short story contest.

The contest is open to all residents of the National Capital Region and to all members of Capital Crime Writers.

Click here for more details.


Capital Crime Writers (CCW) will announce the winners of the Audrey Jessup Short Short Contest 2017 at the Louise Penny night for her latest novel, A Great Reckoning, in the Inspector Gamache series 
June 16 7:00 pm Southminster Church, 15 Aylmer. The shortlist is Pam Isfeld for What she knew, Wynn Quon for Anything but Retail and Theresa Ann Wallace for Scar Tissue.
The stellar team of judges who adjudicated, critiqued and made the selection will be in attendance and selling their latest novel in collaboration with Perfect Books.
They are: Brenda Chapman, Madona Skaff-Koren and Melissa Yuan-Innes (Yi).
Tickets may be purchased by Credit Card ON-LINE from Books on Beechwood (Cash Only, 35 Beechwood Ave.), Perfect Books (Cash Only, 258 Elgin St.) and Octopus Books (Cash Only, 116 Third Ave. location ONLY). Get your tickets soon.
This event will sell out.
The Louise Penny event is part of the Ottawa International Writers Festival and Scène Canada Scene.

Meet our 2017 Audrey short story contest judges!

It’s time to tap into your inner sleuth, and start crafting your short story crime fiction masterpiece for this year’s CCW Audrey short story contest.  This is your chance to put your story in front of our panel of award-winning professional writers. Meet our judges:

Brenda Chapman

Brenda Chapman

Ottawa crime writer Brenda Chapman began her writing career with the Jennifer Bannon mysteries for young adults with Running Scared, the first in the series, released in 2004. During this period, Brenda wrote short stories that were published in various magazines, including Canadian Living, Storyteller and the 2005 anthology When Boomers Go Bad. In 2010, her first standalone mystery for adults entitled In Winter’s Grip was released. She currently has two adult series in the works: the Anna Sweet mysteries for adult literacy (Grass Roots Press) and the Stonechild and Rouleau mysteries — Shallow End, the fourth in this police procedural series will be on the shelves in March 2017 (Dundurn).

Melissa Yi/Yuan-Innes

Melissa Yi/Yuan-Innes

Melissa Yi is an emergency physician who writes Derringer Award-nominated mysteries. CBC Radio’s The Next Chapter selected STOCKHOLM SYNDROME, the Hope Sze medical thriller about a Montreal hostage-taking, as one of the best crime novels of the season. Melissa’s work has been hailed as “impressive” and “moving” by Publishers Weekly. Her short fiction has graced Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, Jewish Noir, Indian Country Noir, Sleuth Magazine, and will appear the upcoming Montreal Noir. In her spare time, Melissa chases after two small children and one large Rottweiler. She hangs out at Facebook, Twitter (@dr_sassy) and

Madona Skaff-Koren

Madona Skaff-Koren

Madona Skaff-Koren was a past president of both Capital Crime Writers and the Ottawa Chapter of Sisters in Crime.  With a degree in biology, she worked in mining research for many years.  In 2015 she published her mystery novel, “JOURNEY OF A THOUSAND STEPS” (Renaissance Press), about a marathon runner disabled by MS who turns sleuth to find her missing friend. She has also published several short stories, including the Arthur Ellis finalist “FIRST IMPRESSIONS”, which appeared in The Whole She-Bang 2 (2014). Find her on Facebook, at and

CCW contest pub night and great writing news-RESCHEDULED

UPDATE: The pub night has been RESCHEDULED to June 22, 2016 and relocated to the Foolish Chicken due to the sinkhole situation on Rideau Street.

The winners of the 2016 CCW short story contest  will be announced on Wednesday June 22, 2016 .  Come and hear readings from the winners.  Anyone else who wishes to read their work is also welcome. Want to see who made the short list? See this post.

When and where

When: Wednesday June 22, 2016, 6:30 p.m. – last to leave.
Where: Foolish Chicken, 79 Holland Ave, Ottawa, ON

Publishing and awards news about members

CCW member Patricia Filteau to launch new book
Patricia Filteau is launching her new book, Vantage Point: A Kate Roarty, P.I. novel on Monday May 30, 2016, at 7:30. The launch is at 3 Sisters Bakeshop & Café, located at 2211 Arch Street. That pastries there are divine.

Peggy Blair short story
CCW friend Peggy Blair has released an eight-episode podcast of a Inspector Ramirez short story prequel (to Umbrella Man) narrated by Selma Farmer.  The launch of Umbrella Man, the fourth Inspector Ramirez mystery is on Thursday June 9, 2016 at 6:00 p.m. It takes place at Holland’s Cake and Shake, 229
Armstrong St, Ottawa.

CCW member Adrienne Stevenson clinches 3rd place
Adrienne Stevenson has won third place in the 2016 National Capital Writing Contest. The award is sponsored by the Canadian Authors Association: National Capital Region. Her story is entitled “Leveller.” Congratulations.

CCW ELECTIONS: 2016-2017
The elections for the CCW executive (2016-2017) were held on May 11th. I am pleased to announce the 2016-2017 executive:

PRESIDENT: Michael Murphy
PAST PRESIDENT: Katherine Hobbs
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Joe Italiano & Mary Fernando

Thanks to the members of the 2015-2016 executive:
PRESIDENT: Katherine Hobbs
PAST PRESIDENT: Michael Murphy
PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Michael Murphy & Joe Italiano

Short story finalists announced

The finalists for the 2016 Audrey Jessup Capital Crime Writers Short Story contest are:

  • Morgan Duchesney for Wrong Side of the River
  • Joe Italiano for On the Job
  • Andrew Kohut for Trouble with Numbers
  • James Portman for The Legacy
  • Wynn Quon for Haslau

The winners  will be announced on June 8th, 2016 at the Capital Crime Writers Pub Night. Nominees will read from their entries.

Congratulations to all of the nominees and best of luck.

When and where

When: Wedesnday, June 8, 2016 at 6:15 p.m.
Where: Peter Devine’s Pub located at 67 Clarence St. in the Byward Market


Congratulations to this year’s short story contest winners!

FIRST PRIZE:  “Revenge By Any Other Name…” by Jennifer Jorgensen
SECOND PRIZE: “The Caretaker” by Wynn Quon
THIRD PRIZE: “Snow Day” by Gladys Galay
HONOURABLE MENTION: “Urban Renewal” by Ken Nyhuus
HONOURABLE MENTION: “The Unsolvable Case of Somebody’s Finger” by Tavis Maplesden