The Audrey Jessup Short Story Contest

The 2017 Contest

The Audrey Jessup Short Story Contest is held annually by the Capital Crime Writers. It is open to all residents of the National Capital Region aged 18 + and to all members of Capital Crime Writers.

In addition, a critiquing service is offered for an extra fee.

Winners from the Audrey Jessup 2016 contest:

  • First Place:                       Trouble with Numbers by Andrew Kohut
  • Second Place:                 Haslau by Wynn Quon
  • Third Place:                     On the Job by Joe Italiano
  • Honourable Mention:  The Legacy by James Portman
  • Honourable Mention:  Wrong Side of the River by Morgan Duchesney
  • 1st Prize:   $200.00
  • 2nd Prize:  $100.00
  • 3rd Prize:  $50.00

 Stories must be:

  • Original unpublished fiction
  • Feature a crime
  • No more than 3500 words
  • In English
  • Typed double-spaced
  • On white paper
  • The author’s name must not appear in the story.  Submissions that identify the author in  the pages of the story will be rejected.

Identifying information must only be  found on a separate cover page, which must include:

  • Your name
  • Mailing address
  • Email address
  • Telephone number
  • Story title
  • An accurate word count

There is a limit of one submission per author.


This year the contest will use electronic submission. Please submit your story as an attachment to an email sent to The story file should be in .doc or .docx format. An automated reply will be sent when the email is received.

Please Note: The reply email currently contains an incorrect message. The contest is currently open. The closing date remains April 1, 2017.

Contest Fees

Payment of the contest entry fees is via PayPal button at the bottom of the page. There are two payment choices:
  • $20.00 entry fee ONLY; or
  • $40.00 if you wish to also receive a written critique of your work.

Please forward a copy of your PayPal receipt to along with your contact information to ensure that we can match your payment with your entry.


A short list of 5 stories will be announced after the contest closes. Prizes will be awarded at a Capital Crime Writers event in June 2017 with winners asked to read from their stories.  Those who have submitted a story will be notified of the time and place of the event by e-mail. Notices will also be posted on the Capital Crime Writers website.

This distinguished panel of highly qualified volunteer judges have been chosen to critique the stories and select the winners. The process is blind.


For more information: E-mail:


Entry Options

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.