Category Archives: Book Launches

Year-end bash features Audrey Jessup Short Story Award

Who will win the Audrey Jessup short story award?

Find out while sipping a tall, cold one at the Heart & Crown in the Byward Market (67 Clarence St.) on Wednesday, June 11, 2014.

The shortlist for the Audrey Jessup  2014 Capital Crime Writers Short Story Contest were announced on May 10, 2014 during Capital Mayhem.  The nominees (in alphabetical order ) are:

“Act the Part ” by Jennifer Jorgensen

“The Moment It Fell” by Wynn Quon

“The Ride Home” by Linda Standing

“Scapegoat” by Nicholas Ashton

“When a Friendship Fails” by Kristina Stanley

The event takes place from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. and spaces are limited to 35. Please register here


Scandinavian Crime Fiction Night

Meet and listen to famous and debut Scandinavian mystery authors on Monday, June 9, 2014 at the Ottawa Public Library Main Branch (120 Metcalfe Street) starting at 7 p.m.

This event features:
Norway’s Thomas Enger – bestselling author of the Henning Juul Series. Enger is launching his new novel, Pierced.

Denmark’s Jakob Melander – internationally-acclaimed author of The House that Jack Built, the first book in a new crime noir series.

Sweden’s Dan T. Sehlberg – debut author of the highly-original technothriller, Mona.

Brenda Chapman announced as Arthur Ellis finalist

Brenda Chapman is a finalist for an Arthur Ellis award in the novella category.

Brenda Chapman

Chapters on Rideau Street hosted a panel of CCW authors on Thursday, April 24 where it was later announced that Brenda Chapman is a finalist for the Arthur Ellis award for her novella, My Sister’s Keeper.

CB Forrest moderated the author panel consisting of  Chapman, Barbara Fradkin, RJ Harlick and Michael McCann. At the end of the evening, Mary Jane Maffini, who MC’d the event, announced the short lists for the Crime Writers of Canada’s Arthur Ellis Awards. Congratulations Brenda!



Jump into spring with a signed copy of Cold Mourning


Be sure to drop by Brittons in the Glebe on Saturday, April 5, 2014 between 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. to pick up a signed copy of Brenda Chapman‘s latest novel, Cold Mourning. Brittons is located at 846 Bank Street (near Fifth).

Cold Mourning, the first in a police procedural series set in Ottawa, recently received great reviews in the National Post and Quill and Quire.

The novel features police recruit Kala Stonechild and her bossDetective Jacques Rouleau, as they delve into the mysterious disappearance of wealthy businessman Tom Underwood just days before Christmas.

Launch of a supernatural whodunnit

CCW member Mike Young is launching his first novel, Kirk’s Landing, on December 11th, at 8pm. at  Daniel O’Connell’s Pub, 1211 Wellington West, Ottawa.

Kirk’s Landing features Dave Browne, a big city undercover cop, with the power of invisibility who gets his cover blown by a biker gang in Toronto. He’s sent to head up a RCMP detachment in a supposedly quiet small town in Manitoba, and soon finds that Kirk’s Landing has a lot more going on under the surface that he had anticipated, including corruption at the mill, murder, and an evil spirit.

Dave Whellams – “Walking into the Ocean” Book Launch, April 4th 2012

Dave Whellams – “Walking into the Ocean” Book Launch April 4, 2012, at Collected Works, Wellington at Holland, 7 p.m.

CCW member Dave Whellams will be launching his first novel Walking into the Ocean on Wednesday, April 4.

The first in a trilogy featuring semi-retired Scotland Yard veteran, Chief Inspector Peter Cammon, this murder mystery sends our investigator down to the Jurassic Cliffs of Devon and Dorset to investigate the killing of a local woman by her mechanic husband, who has thrown her off a cliff and then disappeared into the English Channel. The crime seems an ordinary one for the brilliant Cammon to bother with, but he soon learns that the region is plagued by a serial killer who has been abducting young women on these same cliffs. Cammon’s unflappable and manipulative boss, Deputy Commissioner Bartleben, realizes that Cammon indeed is the man for the job, for only the inspector is capable of perceiving the connection between the deaths of the wife and the young women. In figuring out the murders, Cammon ends up relying, unexpectedly, on a number of women, who include not only the beautiful local girl, Guinevere, but also Peter’s own wife and daughter. Ranging from the south of England to the island of Malta, and back again, Walking into the Ocean reaches its climactic confrontation on the rugged cliffs overlooking the Channel.

Dave is also the author of the short story collection Stories from the Criminal Code. In February, he published his novella Craxer Must Steal on the Smashwords e-pub site, the first of a series of humorous mysteries starring John Craxer, insurance investigator and thief.

All CCW members are welcome to attend the book launch on April 4. Walking into the Ocean is published by ECW Press in cloth and paper formats, as well as on Kindle and Kobo.